Review Ramblings

I’m very inspired by what I experience is a strong focus on content in the film photography community. When I read film reviews or listen to film pod casts there’s always a lot of new content, well worded insigts, and thought-through opinions.

In the digital photography community – at least in reviews – I tend to find so much rambling.

I’ll share some examples here:

This lens is a typical Leica lens. Small, gorgeous, and of very high optical quality. Leica makes some killer 50’s and in all honesty they do not make a bad lens. In the Leica world of 50mm lenses we have the classic and one of my all time favorites, the 50 Summicron (see my review here). I LOVE the 50 Cron! Period! If I had one lens to buy for my M9 and wanted the best all around lens for speed, size, weight, cost and performance it would be the 50 Summicron. Sure there is a more exotic lens like the 50 Summilux ASPH but it is much larger, heavier and costs much more. You can read about the 50 Lux HERE. Now, for those who can afford it and want the best of the best in the 50mm department then the Leica 50 Noctilux f/0.95 is the one to get. It’s a masterpiece. Beautiful. Heavy. LARGE. BUT DAMN, its GORGEOUS and unlike any other lens made today for 35mm. I have written a review for the 50 Noctilux as well (can see it here). Leica also makes a 50 Elmar 2.8 that collapses into the body. I have not yet reviewed it but I have used it and loved it.

I can’t think of a single thing here that tells me anything about any lens, except that all lenses are great/lovable/gorgeous. And this is not merely a random paragraph. I did a count. In an article of 114 periods, 67 where pure ramblings like the above. That’s way of half the content! An additional 12 periods were commercials. And only 35 periods described the product in a meaningful way.

What I find in the film photography community is beautiful paragraphs like this:

Kodak Portra likes daylight: so that means always ensuring it’s around. If you’re shooting with it at night or around Tungsten/Incandescent lighting you’re going to get very orange tones to the scenes you photograph. If you’re shooting in cloudy situations, I also highly recommend using a flash unless your lab is very good at fixing colors.

Not only is the quality of the writing just higher (“Kodak Portra likes daylight” – well worded, huh!?), but it is also describing the product to me. I’m learning here. Or:

Notice how you’re still getting muted tones here but they could be better if there was just more light? I probably should have overexposed it but for this session.

In lens reviews all I see are shots of sons , wives or palm trees without any real comments about what’s good or bad about that particular image.

Leave a Reply

